Friday, December 25, 2009



Tuesday, December 15, 2009

Jeffrey Appointed Veep for Sarawak & Sabah

Datuk Jeffrey Gapari Kitingan has been appointed vice-president in charge of Sabah and Sarawak with responsibility for drawing up a master plan to develop the two states, and to prepare for the next general election.

Thamrin Jaini remains as Sabah liaison chairman with Christina Liew as deputy. Kong Hong Ming, John Ghani and Awang Tengah Awang Amin have been named as vice-chairmen.

Anwar said the changes were made in the spirit of inclusivity and in consultation with the leadership of the Sabah divisions.

"I recognise the unique circumstances under which Sabah and Sarawak joined the federation. As a nation it is regrettable that we have at times failed to live up to the spirit and ideals of the Malaysia Agreement of 1963 which outlined the rights of Sabah and Sarawak," Anwar told Malaysiakini.

"It is one of (PKR's) key objectives to restore the dignity and position of Sabah and Sarawak and uplift from poverty its diverse peoples. I therefore urge all parties to turn the page on divisiveness, pettiness and work together with a renewed commitment to unity and justice."

Correction Datuk Seri, we never joined the federation. Historically Sarawak,Sabah and Singapore, together with the Federated States of Malaya formed a new nation called Malaysia on 16 September 1963.

Nevertheless, we warmly welcome Anwar’s acknowledgement of the federal government’s shortcomings in recognizing the rights of Sarawak and Sabah, and hope one day very soon, our two states may be accorded due recognition and the dignity we rightfully deserve.


PKR Sarawak New Line-Up

Advisors: YB Dominique Ng, Datuk Hafsah Harun, Dato Sri Daniel Tajem

State Liaison Chairman: Baru Bian

Deputy State Liaison Chairman: Wan Zainal Wan Sanusi

Vice Chairman: Granda Aing, Dr Michael Teo, Jimmy Donald

Secretary: Abang Zulkifli Abang Engkeh

Assistant Secretary: Piee Ling

Treasurer: Wong Huan Yu

Assistant Treasurer: George Chen

Information Chief: See Chee How

Deputy Information Chief: Dr Ikwar Bakaruddin

Angkatan Muda Chief: Ahmad Nazib Johari

Wanita Chief: Ibi Uding

Election Director: Nicholas Bawin Anggat

Policy Director: Augustine Liom

Strategy Director: Dr Manshor Hossen

Deputy Strategy Director: Mexlian Gombex

Sarawak Cabinet

Sarawak currently has 11 state government ministries headed by the Chief Minister. Each minister may have more than one portfolio, an assistant minister and a permanent secretary who acts as the administrative head.

YAB Pehin Sri Haji Abdul Taib Mahmud
Minister of Finance
Minister of Planning and Resource Management

YB Datuk Patinggi Tan Sri Dr. George Chan Hong Nam
Minister of Modernization of Agriculture
Minister of Industrial Development

YB Datuk Patinggi Tan Sri (Dr.) Alfred Jabu anak Numpang
Minister of infrastructure Development and Communications
Minister of Rural Development

YB Dato Sri Dr. James Jemut Masing
Minister of Land Development

YB Dato Sri William Mawan anak Ikom
Minister of Social Development and Urbanization

YB Datuk Amar Abang Haji Abdul Rahman Zohari bin Tun Datuk Abang Haji Openg
Minister of Housing

YB Dato Sri Wong Soon Koh
Minister of Environment and Public Health
Minister of Finance II

YB Datuk Micheal Manyin anak Jawong
Minister of Urban Development and Tourism

YB Datuk Amar Haji Awang Tengah bin Ali Hassan
Minister of Planning and Resource Management II
Minister of Public Utilities